Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)

Note the following update was issued on May 14, 2020:

The Canadian CPA profession and ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) are now in the process of negotiating a new agreement that sets out how members of each respective profession can obtain the designation of the other.

The existing MRA will remain in place until April 30, 2021.

The CGA Provincial Bodies and CGA Canada signed the existing Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) with ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) in 2011. Upon unification of Canada’s three individual accounting bodies in 2014, the commitments of each CGA body who was party to the agreement was transitioned to the new CPA body for that jurisdiction. With the exceptions of CPA Bermuda, which did not have a legacy CGA body, and CPA Quebec, which gave notice of termination to the ACCA on October 17, 2012, the new CPA bodies continued to honor the agreement. On April 8, 2020, CPA Canada sent ACCA a notice of termination of the MRA to terminate the MRA effective April 30, 2021.

Following CPA Canada’s termination of the agreement, we are now in the process of negotiating a new agreement that sets out how members of each respective profession can obtain the designation of the other.

During this negotiation, the terms of the previous Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) will be respected for a one-year notice period until April 30th, 2021, and fully completed applications for membership under the MRA must be received by the applicable body by this date. Another 12 months will be provided to process those completed applications. Further information for CPA and ACCA members interested in applying for the respective memberships is available at

The negotiation process between CPA Canada and ACCA toward a new agreement has already begun and will continue in the months to come.

ACCA and CPA Canada have worked together on important initiatives during the past two years, including a significant joint research project on how accountants can help bridge the infrastructure gap, as well as co-operation on public sector activities. Each is committed to fostering global mobility for accountants and will continue to have pathways into their respective designations for internationally trained professional accountants.

We will continue to keep all members informed about the status of our reciprocity agreements. A listing of all current reciprocal agreements is available here.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact

Eligibility under MRA (until April 30, 2021)

ACCA members wishing to be admitted as a member of a CPA provincial body through the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) must meet the following requirements:
  1. Those ACCA members who gained membership with ACCA after July 1, 1998 are required to hold a university degree recognized by CPA Canada
  2. Do not have any outstanding ethics complaints, nor have been subject to any disciplinary sanctions within the five (5) years prior to their application;
  3. Obtain membership with ACCA through the completion of the ACCA Professional or Part 3 examinations and meet experience requirements. Members who obtained membership with ACCA through an MRA with another professional body are not eligible to become a member of the CPA provincial body pursuant to this MRA;
  4. Complete all CPA Alberta requirements for the ACCA MRA agreement and submit membership application to CPA Alberta prior to April 30, 2021.

Additional eligibility requirements specific to CPA Alberta

  1. You must be a Canadian Citizen or legally permitted to work or study in Canada (for more information, visit the Canadian Immigration and Citizenship at;
  2. Have attained a minimum of 2 years of pre-designation international employment in the accounting profession outside of Canada, immediately prior to receiving your foreign designation (a reduction of this time may be requested, contact for further information);

NOTE: Due to the withdrawal from the agreement and anticipated volume of applications, we recommend you begin the process for admission under this MRA as soon as possible. Processing times may vary depending on volume.

Steps to submit a complete application to CPA Alberta:

Step 1 - In order to complete the pre-assessment process, you are required to create a record in our system. You may do that here. Select “Create Account” and enter in your information. You will be required to enter in a username and password. Please note that your password must be minimum eight characters, at least one letter, one number and one special character.

Once you have created an account you will receive an email with an activation code so you can activate your account. 

From the landing page click on Action Centre>My Tasks. Then click on “Pre-assessment Questionnaire”. Complete all fields with an * and submit. Within 5 – 10 business days (volume dependent) of receiving the completed PAQ we will notify you of your eligibility to proceed.

Step 2 - While your PAQ is being reviewed, request a verification letter from ACCA to be sent directly to CPA Alberta, 800 444 7 Ave SW Calgary AB T2P 0X8 Attn: Member Registrations. Please do not upload your personal copy of the verification documentation to your file.

The verification letter must state the following:

  • When you received your designation;
  • You did not receive your ACCA designation by virtue of a third party agreement ACCA has with any other accounting bodies;
  • You have not had or have had a history of discipline in the last 5 years;
  • No outstanding discipline or complaints.

Step 3 - Request an evaluation of your university transcripts by World Education Services or International Qualifications Assessment Service, to ensure Canadian equivalency and request the results be sent directly from the evaluating body to us. The Bachelor of Science in Applied Accounting from Oxford Brookes University is a recognized degree. If you hold this degree, we will require official transcripts to be sent directly from Oxford Brookes University to CPA Alberta. If you hold a degree from a Canadian University, you must have a copy of your transcript sent directly to us.  All documentation must be sent from the evaluating body or university to CPA Alberta attention: Member Registrations.  Note: ACCA program cannot be used as a degree equivalent. Please do not upload a personal copy of your degree assessment to your file.

Step 4 - The registration form for the Overview of Canadian Tax and Law course, will be sent to you once it has been determined you qualify to proceed through the MRA. Once completed, submit the certificate of completion to CPA Alberta.  

Step 5 - Upon receipt of the certificate of completion and a final review of your file, if eligible, notification will be sent to you so you may go online to complete the application process.  Complete this form and submit along with applicable fees by April 30, 2021 to CPA Alberta.

The overall PAQ process takes about 2 months to complete.  However this is dependent on third party (ACCA, WES, IQAS) processing times as well as completion time for the Overview of Canadian Tax and Law. We encourage you to allow adequate processing time for all required documentation.  Therefore, in order to meet the April 30, 2021 application deadline, we suggest you start the PAQ process no later than March 1, 2021.

Please note: Approval for admission to membership solely qualifies the applicant for certification as a CPA in Alberta; it does not provide the rights to practice professional or public accounting. All CPA members are required to meet Alberta’s Professional Accounting Firm Registration Criteria (PAFRC). More information in regards to the professional and public accounting requirements can be found on our website.

Share this page